Why I need to read something other than Twilight: Spain’s bestselling books for July

A few weeks back I wrote about the summer reading lists published by pretty much every newspaper under the sun (and speaking of which … does The Sun publish one?). Here’s another piece of the puzzle – the Spanish literary magazine Qué Leer (What to Read)  published Spain’s bestselling books for the month of July, a list that likely includes books bought for the express purpose of holiday reading. The bestselling book? The novel El tiempo entre costuras (literally ‘Time between the seams’), by first-time novelist María Dueñas, which was released back in June 2009. It’s a historical-romantic-thriller about a young Spanish seamstress in 1930s Spain, who follows a man to Morocco and finds herself caught up in a heady whirl of politics, intrigue and romance.

The second-placed book is also by a Spanish female novelist:  Dime quien soy (‘Tell me who I am’) by Julia Navarro, released in February this year. It’s about a young Spanish journalist researching the life of her great-grandmother who fled Spain on the outbreak of war in 1936, and as well as a reflection on the task of recovering a life and a story from a series of fragments and traces, it’s marketed as an innovative telling of the history of 20th-century Europe.  Both books are minutely-researched reflections on the intersection of individual lives with sweeping narratives of history, and both of them look as if they would be interesting propositions for the course I was talking about in the previous post.

http://www.twilightsaga.org/gallery/images/thumb/480/3153/the-short-second-life-of-bree-tanner

Not sure I could say the same for the third book on the list and – shame on me! – the only one I have read (albeit in English):  La segunda vida de Bree Tanner, which is the translation of Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight-Eclipse spinoff novella The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner, released in May this year. OT: What an odd choice to change the title. Did Bree get a stay of execution in the Spanish version? 

See the full details here: Ranking venta de libro del mes Julio | Qué Leer – Revista.

5 comments

  1. Kirsty, just discovered your blog and I love it! What a great idea. I’m going to have to check out “Dime quién soy” when I get a chance. I’ll check back for more ideas…

    See you in January!

  2. Hi Sara, and thanks! Re: Dime quien soy, be warned- it’s MASSIVE, more than 1000 pages!!! Hopefully I’ll have made some serious headway by the time we get to LA …

  3. OMG, that’s like El corazón helado, which it took me an entire summer to get through. These Spanish authors need to take some pity on those of us who want to read more than one book a year!!

    By the way, I have a little blog, too, nothing like your endeavor, but fun nonetheless if you want to check it out: http://thesjblog.blogspot.com/

    1. Sara, I’ve just rescued your last comment from the spam folder! I checked out your blog (Professor to the stars – too cool!) and added you to my blogroll, hope that’s okay… And yes, I devoted *way* too much of my life to El corazon helado last year and *that* is why I so love Matilde de Asensi, whose books are weeny enough to fit in my pocket …

  4. […] just how little relation this list has with the bestsellers I’ve been reporting on during the last few months; we’ll find out tomorrow, when they publish the essays and analysis, how the 50+ critics and […]

Leave a Reply

